One Hour, Half a Day or Longer: How Long Is a Husky Safari?
Rovaniemi husky safaris by time and distance: 30 minutes and 2.5 km to 5 hours and 10 km, how long you are actually on the sled, and where the rest goes.
A husky safari from Rovaniemi is mostly not on the sled. The ride itself is 7 to 50 minutes depending on the safari; the rest is the transfer, dressing, the briefing and time with the dogs. For a good drive in half a day, book Apukka Resort Oy’s Rovaniemi: Apukka Husky Adventure 6km, self-driven, from US$244 a person (checked November 2026): 3.5 hours with the bus, and 6 km on a sled you drive yourself.
The bus takes 35 minutes from Rovaniemi city centre or Santa Claus Village, you spend 2 hours at Apukka Resort and the bus back takes 30. Thermal overalls, boots, woollen socks and mittens are included, and “guides do not drive the sleds”. On the dates we read it started at 12:00, 1:00 or 2:00 PM on 10 December 2026, at hourly times from 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM on 20 January 2027 and at 3:00 PM on 17 February 2027, and 27 November 2026 had no availability.
Time on the sled against the hours
| Safari | Distance | Time on the sled | Listing length |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bearhill husky, Santa Claus Village | 2.5 km, a musher drives | 7 to 12 minutes | 30 minutes, no transfer |
| Safartica, Daytime Husky Safari | 5 km, self-drive | About 20 to 30 minutes | 1.5 hours, transfer not counted |
| Rovaniemi Insider, 5 km Self-Drive | 5 km, self-drive | About 10 to 15 minutes | 5 hours, with a 45-minute bus each way |
| Apukka Resort Oy, 6 km | 6 km, self-drive | Not stated | 3.5 hours with the bus |
| A Day In Lapland, Husky Safari with Transfers & BBQ | 6 to 10 km, self-drive | About 30 to 50 minutes | 4 hours |
| Rovaniemi Insider, 10 km Husky Sled Ride | 10 km, self-drive with a driver switch | 25 to 35 minutes of driving | 4 hours |
| Arctic GM Experiences OY, Drive Your Own Husky Team | 5 to 8 km, self-drive | Not stated | 5 hours |
| Arktictopia, 10 km Husky Safari in the Taiga Forest (Viator) | 10 km, self-drive | Not stated | 4 hours 30 minutes |
GetYourGuide listings, checked November 2026; Viator, checked November 2026.
Where the rest of the time goes

The transfer is the big one. Rovaniemi Insider’s 5-hour safari has a 45-minute bus each way, and the group splits in half: one half drives while the other waits in a kota with hot drinks, then they swap. A guest on Safartica's safari in January 2026 counted 4 hours 15 minutes from the city centre and back, about half an hour of it on the sled.
Dressing takes time too, because several safaris hand out overalls and boots on arrival. Then there is the briefing, and afterwards the time with the dogs and a hot drink by a fire, which several safaris make part of the outing.
The longer runs

If the time on the sled is what you are paying for, three listings give you more of it. A Day In Lapland runs 6 to 10 km, about 30 to 50 minutes depending on the snow and the dogs’ pace, with two guests to a sled and a switch halfway, then sausages and marshmallows in a kota. Rovaniemi Insider's 10 km ride gives 25 to 35 minutes of driving, also with a switch. Arktictopia’s 10 km self-drive in the taiga forest visits a small family-run kennel, with round-trip transport from Rovaniemi, for US$260 (checked November 2026); the operators price in euros, so the dollar figure moves with the exchange rate.
Check who may drive. A Day In Lapland lets only adults (18+) take the handlebar. On Lapland Royal Adventures' 7.5 km safari, the cheapest long run at US$77, the driver cannot be changed during the ride; it is rated 4.2 by 103 reviewers.
A multi-day husky safari?
Not as a tour you can book on GetYourGuide or Viator. The longest Rovaniemi husky tour we found on GetYourGuide in November 2026 lasts 5 hours, and none of the Viator husky tours for the area ran overnight. A multi-day trip with dogs means going to a kennel directly, and we have not compared those.
Which length to book
Rovaniemi: Apukka Husky Adventure 6km, self-driven
Apukka Resort Oy: 3.5 hours with the bus from the centre or Santa Claus Village, the full winter kit, and 6 km on a sled you drive. Max 2 adults and 1 to 3 children a sled.
See dates →Rovaniemi: Husky Safari with Transfers & BBQ
A Day In Lapland: 6 to 10 km, about 30 to 50 minutes, two to a sled with a switch halfway, overalls and boots, and a kota with sausages afterwards. Only adults drive; no children under 4.
See the safari →Rovaniemi: Daytime Husky Safari - 5 km self-driven
Safartica: 1.5 hours plus the transfer, 5 km and about 20 to 30 minutes at the handlebar, winter clothing and hot drinks included.
See start times →Prices, ratings and review counts from the listings (GetYourGuide checked November 2026). Operators price by date and season, so treat the figures as the shape of the market, not a quote.
More from Rovaniemi
Husky and Winter Tours with Open Dates
Other husky rides and winter outings around Rovaniemi with live availability. Where each starts, what it includes and the cancellation terms show before you book.

Half a Day, 6 km at the Handlebar
Apukka Resort Oy's self-driven safari: transfers from Rovaniemi city centre or Santa Claus Village, a thermal overall, boots, woollen socks and mittens, 6 km on your own sled and a hot drink.
See dates