Illustration.

From Rovaniemi · 1.5 hours · Drive your own sled

Rovaniemi Husky Safari

Safartica's musher shows you how to steer, then you drive a husky team 5 km through the Lappish wilderness, two adults to a team and children in the sleigh. Winter clothing, transfers and hot drinks by the campfire are included.

From US$211 per person Free cancellation

Drive or ride

Which Husky Safari from Rovaniemi?

For a first husky safari from Rovaniemi, book Safartica’s Rovaniemi: Daytime Husky Safari - 5 km self-driven, from US$211 a person (checked November 2026). You drive the team yourself after a lesson from the musher, two adults to a sled, for about 20 to 30 minutes, and winter clothing, transfers and hot drinks by the campfire are in the price. It cost the same on every date and party size we read, from 27 November 2026 to 17 February 2027.

Drive your own team

Rovaniemi: Daytime Husky Safari - 5 km self-driven

From US$211 per person · 4.6 ★ (1,037 reviews) · GetYourGuide

Safartica: a 5 km self-drive ride of about 20 to 30 minutes, two adults per team and children in the sleigh. Winter clothing, transfers and hot drinks with biscuits included.

See start times →
Ride, with photos

Rovaniemi: Husky Experience and Sled Ride with Pro Photos

From US$217 per person · 4.8 ★ (139 reviews) · GetYourGuide

Beyond Arctic: a 3 km sled ride as a passenger behind a professional musher, a photographer with you, and edited photos a few days later. Hotel pickup, winter clothing and boots included; up to 8 people.

See the ride →
Thirty minutes, no transfer

Rovaniemi: Santa Claus Village Husky Ride

From US$70 per person · 4.7 ★ (1,588 reviews) · GetYourGuide

Bearhill husky: a 2.5 km ride driven by a musher in the woods of Santa Claus Village, 7 to 12 minutes on the sled, then hot juice and cookies. Up to 4 adults a sled; no transfers or outer clothing.

See the ride →

Prices, ratings and review counts from the listings (GetYourGuide checked November 2026). Operators price by date and season, so treat the figures as the shape of the market, not a quote.

Want a longer drive, or the whole kit with strict sled rules? The comparison table below sets Apukka Resort Oy’s 6 km safari beside it.

  • 4.6 / 5 1037+ Reviews
  • 5 km You drive the sled yourself: about 20 to 30 minutes behind the team, two adults to a sled
  • Clothing in Winter clothing and transfers are in the price, with hot drinks by the campfire afterwards
  • Free Cancellation

The Experience

What the Safari Includes

Transfers, winter clothing, a musher's lesson in steering, the 5 km ride and hot drinks at the kennel afterwards.

Safartica's own highlights, inclusions and notes, as listed on GetYourGuide in November 2026.

Highlights

  • Learn how to ride a husky sled
  • Hear stories and facts about the dogs from a musher
  • Experience the husky ride in Lappish wilderness

What's Included

  • Winter clothing
  • Transfers
  • 5-km self-drive husky ride (about 20-30 min); 2 adults per team, children in sleigh
  • Hot drinks with biscuits
  • Guiding in English

Good to know: You must be on time. Missing the meeting time or location will result in a missed safari, which will not be refunded. Check the correct meeting time and place in the confirmation email sent by email from Safartica · Safari starts when the group is clothed and ready to go. Missed meeting time and point will result in a missed safari, which will not be refunded. Time spent in transfers is not included in the safari duration

How the Safari Runs

The meeting time comes by email, the 1.5 hours start once everyone is dressed, and the transfer is extra time.

  1. Check the Confirmation Email

    Safartica sends the meeting time and place by email, and a missed meeting is a missed safari with no refund. On the dates we read it started at 9:00 AM, 1:00 PM and 3:00 PM on 30 November 2026, at 9:00 AM, 11:00 AM, 1:00 PM and 3:00 PM on 15 December 2026, and at 11:00 AM, 1:00 PM and 3:00 PM on 20 January 2027.

  2. Dress and Meet the Dogs

    Winter clothing is included. The musher meets you at the reception of the resort, walks you to the kennel of Alaskan huskies and shows you how to steer your own sleigh.

  3. Drive 5 km

    Two adults share each team and children ride in the sleigh. The ride takes about 20 to 30 minutes, and the 1.5 hours start once the group is dressed and ready.

  4. Campfire, Then Back

    Back at the kennel the musher tells stories and facts about the huskies over hot drinks and biscuits by the campfire. The transfer time is not part of the 1.5 hours.

Book Your Experience

Check Availability & Prices

Safartica's daytime safari from Rovaniemi: a musher's lesson in steering, then a 5 km self-drive ride of about 20 to 30 minutes, two adults to a team and children in the sleigh. Winter clothing, transfers and hot drinks with biscuits are included. Free cancellation up to 24 hours before.

Powerd by GetYourGuide

Plan the Ride

Husky Safari Questions

A kennel visit or a sled run, how long and how far, what it costs, what to wear, combos with reindeer and the lights, and Levi or Saariselkä.

Prices are each page's featured tour: GetYourGuide checked November 2026. Tour prices are in US dollars, per person; euro figures are marked EUR.

Four Husky Safaris from Rovaniemi Side by Side

Who drives, how far, how long the outing is, where you get on, warm clothing and the rules for children. GetYourGuide and Viator prices with the month they were checked.

FeatureTHIS PAGE Safartica, 5 km self-driveApukka Resort Oy, 6 km self-driveBeyond Arctic, 3 km as a passengerArktictopia, 10 km self-drive
What You PayFrom US$211 per person (checked November 2026)From US$244 per person (checked November 2026) (US$255.16 on 10 December 2026)From US$217 per person (checked November 2026)From US$260 per person (checked November 2026)
The Ride5 km, about 20 to 30 minutes; you steer after a lesson from the musher6 km; you drive, and the guides do not drive the sleds3 km as a passenger; a professional musher drives10 km, self-driven
Length1.5 hours, not counting the transfer3.5 hours: 35 minutes by bus, 2 hours at Apukka Resort, 30 minutes back2 hours4 hours 30 minutes
Start9:00 AM, 1:00 PM and 3:00 PM on 30 November 2026; 9:00 AM, 11:00 AM, 1:00 PM and 3:00 PM on 15 December 2026; 11:00 AM, 1:00 PM and 3:00 PM on 20 January 2027 on the dates we read12:00, 1:00 and 2:00 PM on 10 December 2026; hourly from 10:00 AM to 3:00 PM on 20 January 2027; no availability on 27 November12:30 PM on 27 November, 1:30 PM on 10 December 2026 and 17 February 2027; no availability on 20 JanuaryNot stated
Getting OnTransfers included; the meeting time and place come in the confirmation emailTransfers from Rovaniemi city centre or Santa Claus VillageHotel pickup and drop-off includedRound-trip transportation from Rovaniemi
Warm ClothingWinter clothing includedThermal overall, thermal boots, woollen socks and mittens includedWinter clothing and winter boots includedNot stated
Who Rides2 adults per team; children ride in the sleighMax 2 adults and 1 to 3 children a sled, 250 kg in all; one adult with one child: the child 9 to 10 years oldSmall group, up to 8Up to 8 people per booking
Not ForNo limits listed; a missed meeting is a missed safari, not refundedPregnant women, people with mobility impairments, wheelchair usersWheelchair users; no feeding the dogsNot recommended for pregnant travellers, or travellers with spinal injuries or poor cardiovascular health
Best ForA first drive of your own team without giving up a whole dayA longer drive with the full winter kit and clear rules for familiesRiding rather than driving, with photos of you and the dogsThe longest self-drive here, at a small family-run kennel
See start timesSee the safariSee the rideSee on Viator

Shorter, Longer, or Just the Dogs

A Farm Visit, Two Longer Runs and a Small-Group Tour

Apukka Resort Oy's kennel visit, A Day In Lapland's 6 to 10 km and Rovaniemi Insider's 10 km self-drive, and Pure Lapland's 2-hour tour on Viator.

Husky safaris from Rovaniemi

How the Safaris Differ

Who drives the sled, how long you are on it, what the day around it takes, the rules for children, and the snow.

Drive the sled, or sit in it

This is the first thing to decide, because the safaris split cleanly. On a self-drive safari you stand on the runners and steer while the dogs pull: Safartica’s musher shows you how before the start, and two adults share each team. On Apukka Resort Oy's 6 km safari, the guides do not drive the sleds at all.

On a passenger ride a musher drives and you sit. Beyond Arctic's ride is 3 km as a passenger, and Bearhill husky's ride in Santa Claus Village is 2.5 km, driven by an experienced musher. Passenger rides suit anyone who would rather not handle a team. A husky farm visit or a sled safari goes through the three kinds, kennel visits included.

How long you are on the sled

Map of Rovaniemi: the city centre, Santa Claus Village with the Arctic Circle line marked in its square 8.6 km by road to the north-east, and Rovaniemi Airport 9.5 km by road from the centre
Rovaniemi city centre and Santa Claus Village, the two places most husky safaris collect from, with road distances.

Less time than the stated duration suggests. Safartica’s safari is 1.5 hours, the ride itself about 20 to 30 minutes, and the transfer is not counted in the 1.5 hours. A guest in January 2026, collected in the city centre for a 10:30 safari, counted 4 hours 15 minutes from the centre and back, about half an hour of it on the sled.

The other safaris are built the same way. Apukka Resort Oy's safari lasts 3.5 hours: a 35-minute bus from Rovaniemi city centre or Santa Claus Village, 2 hours at the resort and 30 minutes back. Santa Claus Village is eight kilometres north of the centre, by the village’s own figure, and several operators collect from there. One hour, half a day or longer lists the ride time against the total for every safari we read.

What the price buys

Safartica’s price covers the transfers, winter clothing, the steering lesson, the 5 km ride and hot drinks with biscuits by the campfire afterwards, with guiding in English. Two people pay twice: the availability calendar showed US$421.18 for two adults. For a first drive of your own team, without a whole day gone, it is the one to book.

See start times for the 5 km safari

Every husky price here is per person, even though two adults share a sled. They run from US$70 for the 30-minute ride at Santa Claus Village to US$368 for Wonderlapland's 6 to 10 km drive. Husky safari prices sets out what each step up buys.

Children and the sled rules

Safartica takes children in the sleigh with two adults per team, with no age limit given. Other operators are stricter. Apukka Resort Oy allows at most 2 adults and 1 to 3 children a sled, 250 kg in all; one adult with one child needs the child to be 9 to 10 years old. A Day In Lapland lets only adults (18+) drive and does not take children under 4. What to wear and bring has the weight and age rules safari by safari.

The snow, and the light

Sled rides need snow, and the early-season calendars show it. On the dates we read, Apukka Resort Oy's safari had no availability on 27 November 2026 and Bearhill husky's ride none on 27 November or 10 December. Apukka Resort Oy's early-winter 3 km ride runs on trails made with stored snow from last winter.

The days are short too. On 1 December 2026 the sun is up in Rovaniemi from 10:13 to 13:58, and on 21 December from 11:07 to 13:22 (computed for Rovaniemi, Finnish time). Safartica’s 3:00 PM start on 30 November and 15 December falls in the last light or after sunset, and its 9:00 AM start on those dates is before sunrise. If daylight matters for photographs, pick a midday slot in December (11:00 AM and 1:00 PM were also on sale on 15 December), or go from February, when the sun rises at 9:19 and sets at 15:42 on 1 February 2027.

What reviewers mention

Safartica’s safari has 1,037 reviews on GetYourGuide at an average of 4.6. Of the 350 most recent, from 29 December 2025 to 18 September 2026, 23 give three stars or fewer. The complaints in those are about the day around the ride more than the ride: large groups (one guest in January 2026 counted 50 people), a guide on a snowmobile setting the pace in front, pickup mix-ups, and long waits for a short time with the dogs. The five-star reviews talk about steering the sled yourself, the overalls and boots that kept them warm, and the huskies.

Before you book

  • Be on time. Safartica sends the meeting time and place in the confirmation email, and a missed meeting is a missed safari with no refund. Late arrivals on A Day In Lapland's safari are not refunded either.
  • Who it does not suit. Apukka Resort Oy excludes pregnant women, people with mobility impairments and wheelchair users; A Day In Lapland also excludes people with heart problems. No exclusions are given for Safartica’s safari.
  • Combos. A husky ride can come with reindeer, a snowmobile or an evening search for the lights: husky and reindeer or aurora combos compares them.
  • Elsewhere in Lapland. Staying in Levi or Saariselkä? Husky safaris in Levi and Saariselkä covers the self-drive rides there.
  • Cancelling. Every GetYourGuide safari here can be cancelled free up to 24 hours before.

Your Own Team, 5 km Through the Snow

Safartica's daytime safari from Rovaniemi: a musher's lesson in steering, a 5 km self-drive ride of about 20 to 30 minutes, winter clothing, transfers and hot drinks by the campfire. Starting from US$211 per person.

See start times

More from Rovaniemi

Husky and Winter Tours with Open Dates

Other husky rides and winter outings around Rovaniemi with live availability. Where each starts, what it includes and the cancellation terms show before you book.

Rovaniemi Husky Safari: Questions

Which safari, what it costs, driving or riding, how long, children, clothing, the season and multi-day trips.